Planning my BOV. Establishing my needs for mission success.

After much consideration I’ve firmly decided that my BOV will be based on a Jeep Cherokee and NOT a Ford Explorer. Even though the Explorers cover the Earth here where I live, the Jeep is just so much cheaper and, ummm, hardy, than the Ford.

As I’ve been cruising Craigslist and Ebay and blah blah blah for potential XJ’s, I’ve also been mulling over features and functions I want to incorporate into my BOV.

For anyone who’s considering the ramifications of a true bug out scenario, the reality of most disaster events is that you can’t just hike a half mile into the woods, throw up a tent and roast marshmallows. Just ask the folks from New Orleans.
People get infatuated with the adventure of a bug out, as if it’s all just a chapter in an exciting novel. But seriously, there are people who fled Katrina who have NEVER been able to go back. Think about that.
That sobering image brings to the fore one of the biggest points I’m thinking about in plotting out my rig…long range capability. I’ve read that there are much larger fuel tanks that are direct factory replacements, so that’s going to be one of the first upgrades I make.

As I sat thinking about the ramifications of a much larger fuel supply, I began to think about what I’d be running from. Any prepper will tell you the fact that no matter how much you prepare, how many thousands of $$$ you throw at your preps, how much you study and network and learn, you’ll never ever be prepared for everything.

In order to keep your sanity, you HAVE to (as I did) take a notepad and pen and make a list of every disaster that could happen in your area, and then rearrange them according to likelihood of occurrence. Number one should be the most likely event that could mess up your life. Then you plan for that. My number one possibility here (in north-central Alabama) is a regular power outage, followed by a tornado. That’s probably the first disaster with the greatest chance of forcing a bug out, so there’s a distinct possibility that in the worst situation, I’m going to have to travel somewhere, and probably over back country roads with lots of downed trees.

I think that a good thing here would be to share the list of potential disasters for my area that I came up with. They are listed in order of probability:

Power Outage
Tornado
Auto Accident
Hurricane
Flood
EMP
Economic Meltdown
Pandemic
Sudden and Unexpected Unemployment
Reactor Meltdown
Wildfire
Earthquake
Landslide
Dirty Bomb
Nuclear Strike
Tsunami
Yellowstone Caldera Explosion

Make another mental image here…

The storied EMP burst, sixth down my list, has happened. You wake up, not to a flashing 12:00 on your alarm clock…but to no power at all. And you won’t have any power for probably a year from now as the entire national power grid and supporting infrastructure is rebuilt.

Remember…the EMP not only took out the power generation systems, but it also surged through and destroyed every electronic device stored in warehouses across the country. The replacement transformers the power guys would have hung on poles everywhere are dead too. In fact, any electronic device not shielded in a “Farraday cage”, an enclosed and grounded metal box, will be shorted out by an EMP burst.

So that leads me into another group of ideas about my BOV. As unlikely as an EMP burst might be, it’s not really a complicated or expensive thing to prepare for one. Soooo….

I want to “deelectronilize” my BOV. I want to eliminate the computer controls, convert it from electronic fuel injection to a carburetor setup, and convert the transmission from electronic control to mechanical controls. And here’s where I leave you for now, as I go to research the possibilities.

